top of page

Recipe: Chicken Taco Soup


Since it is officially fall, I thought I would share one of my favorite fall foods: soup! I’m going to be honest, I made this recipe a couple of months ago in the middle of 90-degree weather so I don’t really stick to seasonal confinements for foods, but it was so good that I wanted to make it again and share it with you all.

My favorite thing about this meal is that it makes enough to last for such a long time, and since I’m a college student, with limited funds I might add, it’s an absolute go to! It’s extremely easy, so if you’re interested, here’s what you’ll need:

1 slow cooker

1 onion, chopped

1 can of chili beans

1 can of black beans

1 can whole kernel corn, drained

1 can of tomato sauce

12 fluid ounces of chicken broth

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 package taco seasoning

3 whole skinless, boneless chicken breasts

Crushed tortilla chips, optional

Shredded cheddar cheese, optional

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 7 hours

Directions:

  1. Place the onion, chili beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce, chicken broth, and diced tomatoes in a slow cooker. Add taco seasoning, and stir to blend. Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients. Set slow cooker for low heat, cover, and cook for 5 hours.

  2. Remove chicken breasts from the soup, and allow to cool long enough to be handled. Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup, and continue cooking for 2 hours. Serve topped with shredded Cheddar cheese, and crushed tortilla chips, if desired.

Tips:

  • I normally slow cook it for 3 hours after I shred the chicken, instead of 2 hours, to give the chicken more time to tenderize and let the flavors marinate a little more.

  • Do invest in a slow cooker! Mine was only $27 and you can make so many tasty meals in it!

Enjoy!

Recipe from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/70343/slow-cooker-chicken-taco-soup/

bottom of page