top of page

What We've Been Up To

We know it has been a while so we thought we would catch you up on what we've been doing and what our plans are!



It's October, we know... but a lot happened over the summer.


Joy's Summer


I often describe my summer as a whirlwind that went by way too fast, but at the same time, feels like a lifetime ago. I got out of school in mid May, then a week later was on a flight to Dublin, Ireland for 10 days. Two days after I got back, I was on my way to Dallas for a ten week internship that started 3 days later. Looking back, I have no idea how I had any sort of energy, but I somehow made it through. I don’t know how to sum up my summer better than a little letter to the city I called home for 10 weeks, so here we go:


Dallas...honestly you surprised me.


Switching up my summer plans and interning in Texas instead of my little corner in the Pacific Northwest was a change I was hoping (and praying) I wouldn’t regret. Ten weeks later, I am here to say that I don’t regret it at all. Yes, I missed the water views, the beautiful hikes, and the charming evergreens, but I gained so much more. I made incredible, fun-loving friends, met the kindest and most helpful coworkers, and gained invaluable experience in tax accounting. Will I call Dallas home forever? Who knows. I’m always up for a new adventure, but this summer, Dallas felt like home. It treated me oh so well and I just want to say thank you. Thank you for the laughs, the early mornings, the long days, the bumper to bumper traffic, and the beads of sweat rolling down my back on the several 90+ degree days. See ya next July, D-Town! Onto the next adventure.


Tif's Summer


Summer was truly a lifetime ago, now I'm buried in 200 page readings a week. But before the summer started, I was offered three internships: One in New York, one in Chicago and one in Dallas.


Chicago was truly a whirlwind. I went from living downtown to moving in with a friend in the suburbs, a week into the summer. And it was the best decision I'd ever made. Although, I definitely don't miss those hour long train rides at 7 a.m. When I was younger I'd always pictured myself in a city like Chicago or New York City, but I'd kind of pushed that idea down. After this summer, I'm not so sure anymore. The walks across the Chicago river, rides on the L, the coffee shops in Wicker Park were a breath of fresh polluted air.


I don't know where I'll end up come May - what city, what job, etc. But I'm ok with seeing where the wind takes me.




bottom of page